Free Consultation

602-492-8295

You could be driving illegally and not even know it

Most drivers in Arizona are aware that driving under the influence of a certain amount of alcohol is illegal. However, the effects of alcohol are different for each individual, and some can handle a lot more drinks and not feel or act intoxicated. This becomes a problem when one gets behind the wheel, because it only takes a couple drinks until most drivers are considered to be over the legal limit but they may feel they are ok to drive.

According to Business Insider, one drink is considered to be:

  • 12 ounces of beer
  • 1.5 ounces of liquor
  • 5 ounces of wine

Although different factors affect the blood alcohol content, it takes men approximately two to four drinks an hour to reach the state's legal limit of .08. Some women can only have one or two drinks in an hour before they reach the limit. This means one may go out for dinner, have a couple glasses of wine and feel safe to get behind the wheel, even though their BAC tells a different story. 

Drivers need to be acutely aware of how little alcohol it takes before they are driving illegally or else they can end up in a lot of legal trouble. According to the Arizona Department of Public Safety, there are strict penalties for a DUI conviction. First offenders face jail time of 24 hours to 10 days, license suspension of 90 to 360 days and a minimum fine of $250. Repeat offenders face even stiffer consequences. All of those convicted are also required to have an interlock ignition device on their car for a minimum amount of time.

Because the DUI laws are so strict, and intoxication can be hard to judge after only a couple drinks, drivers are wise to play it safe. Taking public transportation or using a designated driver is the best way to ensure safety on the road.  

 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Burges McCowan PLC | 1421 East Thomas Road | Phoenix, AZ 85014 | Phone: 602-492-8295 | Map & Directions